IHSAA Announces Changes to Girls Basketball Season.

Published 05/06 2014 05:02PM

Updated 05/07 2014 10:03AM

Courtesy: IHSAA

On Monday, the IHSAA Board of Directors, in its annual review of the IHSAA By‐Laws, approved moves involving the girls basketball
season and also passed measures put forth by the Indiana Football Coaches Association with regard to summer participation and
practice schedules.
The group approved by an 18‐1 vote moving up the start of the girls basketball season by one week. Effective July 1, 2015, the first
practice date, first authorized contest date as well as the dates of the state tournament will each be one week earlier to allow the
entire girls basketball state tournament to be played separate from the boys state tournament. In turn the decision will also ensure
the girls state finals will be played in Indianapolis. As was announced in March, the girls finals will return to Bankers Life Fieldhouse
beginning next season.
Also approved were recent proposals from the Indiana Football Coaches Association (IFCA) that go into effect immediately.
The body unanimously voted for a proposal from the IFCA, including an amendment that would establish a more detailed criterion
for conducting football practices, particularly the initial four days of practices with regard to allowable contact, equipment to be
used and the duration of practices.
Also approved by a 19‐0 vote was a proposal from the Indiana Football Coaches Association creating a new section of the
Participation rule establishing specific criteria for football participation in the summer, including an amendment that specifies that
the maximum time for a school’s Activity Day will be 3.5 hours over a five‐hour period. Schools will be allowed to sponsor up to 12
Football “Activity Days” where coaching staffs may work with two or more players from their teams. During those 12 days, five
“Competition Days” may be designated allowing players to practice with or compete against players from another school.
All proposals are considered in the order that the affected rule appears within the current by‐laws. The Board of Directors has four
options on each proposal: affirm, deny, table or amend. A simple majority is necessary to act on any measure. A copy of the current
by‐laws is available here. All approved measures become effective immediately unless otherwise noted.
Other significant items from Monday’s meeting are highlighted below:
 Approved 18‐1 an amendment to allow local school corporations to select coaching education courses as approved by the
IHSAA and establish three levels of accreditation. This measure goes into effect with the 2015‐16 school year.
 Approved a new section of the Enrollment and Attendance rule establishing requirements for a student enrolled in a Virtual
Education School to qualify for participation in athletics at the Public School serving the student’s residence.
 Turned down a measure by an 18‐0 count that would change the penalty for a transfer for primarily athletic reasons from
365 days of ineligibility to 365 days of limited ineligibility.
 Affirmed unanimously an amendment to standardize rules in sports that use controlled scrimmages that a scrimmage may
not occur sooner than the day following the fifth day of practice.
 Approved by a 15‐4 vote increasing the number of season contests permitted in boys and girls basketball from 20 games to
22 games.
 Clarified the transfer rule that allowing a foreign exchange student full eligibility for a maximum of one calendar year
regardless of whether that year spans more than one school year.
 Approved the addition of Rules 200 and 201 regarding Unified Athletics.
 The elections for next year’s leadership of the Board and Executive Committee also were held. Indianapolis Cathedral
Principal Dave Worland was voted president of the 2014‐15 Board of Directors and Fort Wayne Snider Principal Deborah
Watson was selected as vice president. Tim Grove, Superintendent of South Knox School Corporation, was named chairman
of the 2014‐15 Executive Committee and Mike Broughton, Athletic Director at Jennings County, was confirmed as vice chair.
About the Board of Directors
The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school
principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three‐year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified
individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority
representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors
meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By‐Laws and regulations.
District, Seat Board Member Term Ends
District I, Class A Debb Stevens, Caston June 2014
District I, Class AA Don Gandy, Wheeler June 2015
District I, Class AAA Nathan Dean, Jimtown June 2014
District I, Class AAAA Geoff Penrod, Columbia City* June 2015
District II, Class A Ken Howell, Blackford June 2015
District II, Class AA Jimmie Howell, Lapel June 2014
District II, Class AAA Steve Cox, Beech Grove June 2015
District II, Class AAAA Phil Ford, Jay County June 2014
District III, Class A Jed Jerrels, North Daviess June 2014
District III, Class AA Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation** June 2015
District III, Class AAA Mike Whitten, Boonville June 2014
District III, Class AAAA Mike Broughton, Jennings County June 2015
North District, Female Patti McCormack, Lowell June 2016
North District, Minority Deborah Watson, Fort Wayne Snider June 2016
North District, Urban Janis Qualizza, Merrillville June 2016
South District, Female Rae Woolpy, Richmond June 2016
South District, Minority Victor Bush, Indianapolis Arsenal Technical June 2016
South District, Urban Paul Neidig, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools June 2016
Private School Dave Worland, Indianapolis Cathedral June 2016
* President
** Vice‐President

Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.